overall 4 votes: rating onrating onrating onrating halfrating off
editor rating: rating onrating onrating onrating offrating off

An Empire of Law by Allan T. Michaels

 

At the intersection of Law and Power, an attack on the Emperor leads to the oppression of an unpopular minority. Follow Kilthanis D’Endray and others as they attempt to hold the Empire together and eventually take the first steps to tear it apart.

Note: An Empire of Law contains some graphic violence.


A complete novel

Tags: · · · · ·

Listed: Jul 30, 2008

Also by this author:

Share:

  • Facebook
  • Delicious
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter

more . . .

Recommendations

People who recommend this story also recommend:

Member Shelves

Have Your Say!

Register or log in to rate, recommend, review, or bookmark this story.

Note: You can monitor reviews for this listing with its review feed.

Vote for it on topwebfiction.com . . .


Editorial Reviews

the_author() rating onrating onrating onrating offrating off

A Little Less Law

By Miladysa, editor, author of Refuge of Delayed Souls

Apr 4, 2009: The Emperor’s bride has been murdered, the result, war and the breakdown of a civil and lawful Empire. The story is told from the view point of those who serve in the military and those who serve the law.

There are griffins, magicians, deserts, cities and royalty in this fantasy world. The story is well written but despite 53 chapters there is very little in the way of description. So far, I have learned a great deal about the law and little about the people. I suppose the law is where this story falls down for me – I didn’t find the legal arguments the least bit interesting. I would have been interested to learn more about the characters though – what they look like, how they dress, what they feel, as well as greater detail about their world. I have hope that these things will be developed in future chapters.

When the story shifts to the military view point it begins to shine – the fight scenes in particular are excellent! Here the author teases the reader with a glimpse of what an exciting and epic story it is capable of being.

The site design is easy on the eye and the chapters are nice bite-sized portions. I think I would have found the story a little easier to follow if there had been a list of characters simply because there are a lot of them and some of their names were difficult to remember in between visits.

An Empire of Law is a slow moving and methodical story that has a lot of undeveloped potential and the possibility that it could turn into something that I might really enjoy. I’m going to keep an eye on it for at least a little while longer in the hope that it will concentrate less on the court room and more on the action.

3 of 3 members found this review helpful.
Help us improve!  Register or log in to rate this review.

continue with member reviews »

Most Helpful Member Reviews

the_author() rating onrating onrating onrating onrating off

The Empire, it Strikes Back!

By G.S. Williams, author of The Surprising Life and Death of Diggory Franklin

Jul 30, 2008: An Empire of Law (AEOL) is a vast political thriller and a fantasy serial, all in one. Griffins and wizards inhabit a world of forests and deserts, and the emperor declares war on the magic users when one of their number assassinates his wife.

With diverse characters and the intrigues of the imperial court, AEOL offers fast-paced action on a grand scale. Each chapter increases interest and suspense, as stakes are raised in the conflict. The author, Allan T. Michaels, has clearly given a lot of thought to the history of his fantasy world, and populated it very realistically.

AEOL is a traditional fantasy story, in the tradition of Tolkien, Guy Gavriel Kay and others of note. If I have any complaints at all (as Allan’s writing improves on a weekly basis) it’s that the story isn’t as original a premise as his other work, Superstition, even though it has a better pace and grittier characters.

The first Book of the tale has finished at chapter 100, and looking at the entirety of the story so far, my rating doesn’t change much. I appreciate Allan’s imagination and his action scenes can be breath-taking, when he describes a skirmish or hand-to-hand combat.

I have ambiguous feelings about the political intrigues in the story—Allan creates a very thorough history and laws for his imaginary world, and the aristocrats within it use diplomacy, force, and deception quite well. The thought processes and conversations are like intellectual chess as the politicians think about ramifications and manipulate events. However, while the cerebral parts of the story can be almost as thrilling as the action, sometimes they seem to dominate the story.

Allan’s writing continues to improve and evolve, so I’m left looking forward to his future projects, and the hope that he returns to the Empire soon to draw together all the threads into the coming revolution that seems to be on the horizon. Then I’m sure intrigue and action will balance in a struggle of epic proportions.

0 of 1 members found this review helpful.
Help us improve!  Register or log in to rate this review.

Your review

Register or log in to rate, recommend, review, or bookmark this story.