overall 4 votes: rating onrating onrating onrating halfrating off
editor average: rating onrating onrating onrating halfrating off

The Puzzle Box by Edward Picot

 

On her way home for the Christmas holidays, Dora is given a mysterious box by her father. She also discovers that there’s a boy she’s never seen before in the back of the car—but he vanishes when she tries to tell her Dad about him. Then her Dad vanishes too: has he gone to work in London, or has he been abducted by a frightening black beetle? Perhaps the box holds the answer to all these questions—but it isn’t long before people are trying to take it away from her.

“The Puzzle Box” is a story for children and adults about magic and myth, in the tradition of C S Lewis’s Narnia books and “The Box of Delights” by John Masefield. It’s in 12 parts, updated monthly, due to finish in December 2008. It also has interactive, new media elements.


A complete novel

Tags: · · · · · · ·

Listed: Aug 29, 2008

Also by this author:

Share:

  • Facebook
  • Delicious
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter

more . . .

Recommendations

No reader recommendations yet.

Member Shelves

No relevant member shelves.

Have Your Say!

Register or log in to rate, recommend, review, or bookmark this story.

Note: You can monitor reviews for this listing with its review feed.

Vote for it on topwebfiction.com . . .


Editorial Reviews

the_author() rating onrating onrating onrating onrating off

Enjoyed It

By Jim Zoetewey, editor, author of The Legion of Nothing

Oct 4, 2008: I should probably make one comment before I write about the story.

I hate flash.

In case you don’t know, flash is a technique for animating on the web. The Puzzle Box uses flash to open every chapter, forcing you to wait while an animation goes by.

It’s not a terrible thing, but, as mentioned, I hate flash and so prominent use of it isn’t a way to get on my good side.

With that said, I should mention that I enjoyed the story anyway.

As mentioned in the story’s listing, it bills itself as a story for children and adults in the tradition of Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia and Masefield’s The Box of Delights.

To that end, it uses simple and effective prose, a child for a main character, and magical elements that insert weirdness into everyday life.

The plot is straightforward children’s fantasy: the main character’s father disappears and the child has to find him. Other elements of the story include the mysterious box of the title, a boy that seems to be invisible to everyone but the main character, and (the ghost of?) William Blake. Did I mention the beetles? It also includes beetles.

The characters are simple enough for children to find them accessible and complex enough to be interesting.

When the story is over, I may try reading it to my kids. It will be interesting to see what they think.

1 of 1 members found this review helpful.
Help us improve!  Register or log in to rate this review.

Most Helpful Member Reviews

No member reviews yet.

Your review

Register or log in to rate, recommend, review, or bookmark this story.